Song of The Year#5: I Wonder


This Ronettes songs falls into the “Perennial favorite” category. Basically ever since I heard it 20 or so years ago, I don’t think I could ever tire of it’s endless optimism.

Photobucket

“I Wonder” The Ronettes (1963)
from The Fabulous Ronettes Featuring Veronica

A variety of girl groups that crossed paths with the Spector/Greenwich/Barry team recorded this song. I’m not sure if The Ronettes or The Crystals got first crack at it (although The Crystals deliriously uptempo mandolin intro’d version cracked the British top 40 as 1963 became 1964), and then it bubbled under by The Butterflys as a gothic prayer to god in 1965… but it’s The Ronettes innocent teen-to-twentysomething plea that makes their version one of the top 10 “You’ll find true love someday” girl/group songs (that gay men attach themselves too… and I’m pretty sure a decent number of heterosexual men relate to these songs).

These types of Girl Group songs are eternal pleas to happiness and companionship.. from The Shirelles “Mama Said” to The Supremes “You Can’t Hurry Love” and even from the male perspective of songs like The Miracles “Shop Around” that the wisdom of maternal advice to be patient will pay off. If we just keep believing.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Song of The Year#5: I Wonder

  1. This is one of my favorite numbers … I love that resounding THUMPING intro on the LP !!

Leave a Reply

